Monday, January 31, 2011

MLB Trivia: No Sophomore Jinx

In 2008, Tim Lincecum won the Cy Young Award as a second-year player. Can you name the two most recent players to win the Cy Young as second-year players previous to Lincecum?


Pauly said...

I'll say Johann Santana....not sure about the other...didnt Greinke just win it a couple years ago?

Chairman said...

Bret Saberhagen and Doc Gooden?

Originally thought Roger Clemens and Doc Gooden, but then I remembered that they used to joke that Saberhagen only played well in odd years (1985, 1987, and 1989), and was bad in even numbered years.

Greg McConnell said...

Tim Lincecum was the first player in 23 seasons to win the Cy Young as a 2nd-year player. The last time it happened was 1985, when it was actually accomplished by both the AL and NL Cy Young winners: So yes, the answer is Dwight Gooden and Bret Saberhagen.

Pauly, you guessed a Met and a Royal, so you were at least on the right track. ;-)